GPS Dog Fences vs Trackers: The One Line in the Listing That Decides the Real Price
There are two different jobs in this category and they get sold as if they were one. A GPS fence creates a boundary and teaches the dog where it is. A GPS tracker does nothing about the boundary — it tells you where the dog went after it crossed one. Our pet-tech catalog currently carries five products across both jobs, priced from $16.98 to $253.99.
The number that decides which of them costs you more over three years is not on the price tag. It is the line, usually buried in the fourth bullet, that says whether the thing charges you every month. One of the five units in our catalog states a mandatory subscription. Two state no monthly fee at all. One mentions a subscription cost without stating the amount. One says nothing either way, which is its own kind of answer.
What this article is, and is not: it is a comparison of what the listings in our own catalog state, line by line. We did not put these units on a dog, and we are not going to pretend we did. Where a listing is silent on something that matters, we say so instead of filling the gap.
The upfront price is the least important number
A $16.98 tracker that carries no monthly fee costs $16.98, once. A $47 tracker whose listing states a mandatory subscription costs $47 plus that subscription, every month, for as long as the collar is on the dog. The listing for that unit does not state the monthly amount — so we cannot tell you the total, and neither, from the listing alone, can a buyer.
This is the part the price filter on a shopping page hides. Sorted by price, the $16.98 unit sits at the top and the $47 unit looks like a considered upgrade. Sorted by three-year cost, the order may be reversed, and the listing will not tell you by how much.
- No-fee units — the listing states no subscription after purchase.
- Subscription units — the listing states a subscription is required but not what it costs.
- Collar-reading devices (electronic pet doors and some feeders) work off a microchip or a collar tag instead of a cellular plan, so there is no data subscription to price.
What each GPS product in our catalog says about fees
Read down the third column. It is the only column that compounds.
| Product | Price | Fee stated in the listing | Coverage the listing claims |
|---|---|---|---|
| No-monthly-fee GPS tracker with Apple Find My | $16.98 | No monthly fee | Collar-mounted; tracking only, no boundary |
| Real-time GPS tracker, activity breakdown | $39.99 | Listing references a subscription cost, amount not stated | Attaches to any collar; battery stated in days |
| Real-time GPS tracker | $47.00 | Mandatory subscription | Fits dogs from 11 lb; vital-sign monitoring |
| GPS wireless fence, custom boundary shapes | $89.99 | Not stated either way | Up to 37 acres; IPX7 waterproof collar |
| GPS fence, app-drawn polygon | $253.99 | No monthly fees required | Any terrain; supports up to 5 dogs on one system |
The five units side by side
Every column below has its own purchase button, so you can price a specific unit directly rather than taking the table's word for it.
| Compare | No-Monthly-Fee GPS Dog Tracker with Apple Find My | Real-Time GPS Dog Tracker — Attaches to Any Collar, Multi-Day | Real-Time GPS Dog Tracker, Fits Dogs From 11 lb | GPS Wireless Dog Fence — Custom Boundary Shapes Up to 37 | GPS Dog Fence with App-Drawn Boundary — No Monthly Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $16.98 | $39.99 | $47.00 | $89.99 | $253.99 |
| Discount | — | — | — | — | — |
| Rating | — | — | — | — | — |
| Brand | — | — | — | — | — |
| Buy | — | — | — | — | — |
Prices and availability are subject to change. Please check the merchant page before you buy.
Sizing the boundary before you buy a fence
The two fences in our catalog sit at opposite ends of the range question, and the gap between them is the most useful comparison on this page. The $89.99 unit quotes coverage up to 37 acres and supports custom boundary shapes for irregular properties — the spec that matters if your yard is not a rectangle. The $253.99 unit does not compete on acreage; it lets you draw a polygon on an app map instead of digging, and it holds up to five dogs on a single system.
- Irregular property, multiple boundary shapes, acreage first: the cheaper fence matches your problem better.
- Multiple dogs on one system, or a boundary you want to redraw seasonally: the adjustable app-drawn fence is the one whose spec sheet addresses it.
- Correction mode matters more than range for training. Both fences in our catalog describe a graded sequence — tone, then vibration, then a static correction — rather than shock-only, which is the difference between a fence that teaches and a fence that startles.
What these listings do not answer
Three questions decide whether a GPS product works in your specific yard, and none of the five listings answers them. We are listing them as gaps rather than guessing:
One, what happens indoors. A GPS fence in our catalog is described as handling 37 acres outdoors and coming with a caveat about glitching indoors — and indoor GPS drift is the single most common complaint in this product class, because walls attenuate the signal the boundary depends on. Two, how accurate the position is in tree cover; one listing claims it keeps up with a dog sprinting through trees, and no listing gives a stated accuracy figure. Three, whether the subscription-locked unit will keep working if the company changes its plan. No listing addresses it.
🛒 Ready to Shop?
All products featured in this guide are available on Amazon. Use the link below to start shopping for your pet — it supports our work at no extra cost to you.
Shop Pet Supplies on Amazon →








